Framework for faith

Add to My Folder

This content has not been rated yet. (Write a review)

Find out what the Five Pillars of Islam stand for and how they form the structure of daily life for Muslims

The Five Pillars of Islam are known as Arkan, which means ‘supports’. They form a solid framework for faith and daily life for the Muslim community worldwide. The Five Pillars are mandatory, as written in the Holy Qur’an, the sacred text for Muslims, and are both a challenge and a strength to Muslims. The challenge is to live life by these five rules. The strength is in the knowledge that this is what Allah wants, so by acting on them a Muslim is doing the right thing. The following activities are centred around some of the qualities of the Arkan, such as contemplation, generosity and thoughtfulness, self control, and travelling with meaning. They are also about the importance of a framework of rules in our lives. The text on the Arkan can be looked at and discussed by all groups, as it is an important step to understanding the commitment of Muslims to their faith.

Essential facts

The Five Pillars of Islam are essential for all Muslims to understand and to follow.

1. Shahadah

This is a declaration of faith:

Member-only content

Scholastic Resource Bank: Primary - join today!

  • Over 6,000 primary activities, lesson ideas and resources
  • Perfect for anyone working with children from 5 to 11 years old
  • Unlimited access from just £1.25 per month
Join now

Curriculum link


You need to be signed in to place a review.