Store your resources in your very own folder.

Sign in or sign up today!

Find out more

Julia Donaldson becomes seventh Children’s Laureate

Add to My Folder
This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 1 rating (Write a review)

Julia Donaldson has become the new Waterstone’s Children’s Laureate. She took over the role from the outgoing Laureate, Anthony Browne, at a ceremony in central London today.

Julia Donaldson

As Children’s Laureate, Julia will promote issues related to children’s fiction that are important to her, including signed stories for deaf children and the ongoing campaign for public libraries.

The post of Children’s Laureate was established in 1999 to celebrate exceptional children’s authors and illustrators and to acknowledge their importance in creating the readers of tomorrow. Previous Children’s Laureates include Quentin Blake (1999-2001), Anne Fine (2001-2003), Michael Morpurgo (2003-2005), Jacqueline Wilson (2005-2007), Michael Rosen (2007-2009) and Anthony Browne (2009-2011). Julia Donaldson will remain Laureate until 2013.

Log in to your account to read

Don't have an account?

Create your FREE Scholastic account